Do I Really Know You by Sheryl Browne – review.

Description

She’s your oldest friend and you tell each other everything. So you’d know if she’d done something terrible, wouldn’t you?

Maddie and Kiara have been best friends since they met on their first day at university. They have always shared everything with each other, everything except one big secret, which Kiara knows would tear them apart…

When the police knock on Maddie’s front door as she and husband Nick are getting ready for the morning school run, she’s not expecting to hear what they have to tell her.

Kiara is dead.

And when Kiara’s death is ruled as suicide, Maddie can’t believe it. She knew everything about her best friend, didn’t she?

Walking into the plush apartment Kiara only recently moved into, Maddie soon discovers that her best friend’s life wasn’t as happy as she thought. Is that blood on the kitchen floor? And why didn’t Kiara tell her about secret meetings with a man Maddie knows well?

What Maddie learns next has her questioning who her best friend really was. And now she’s discovered Kiara’s web of lies, could her own life be in danger?

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife, Do I Really Know You? is a gripping new psychological thriller from bestselling author Sheryl Browne. Once you start reading, you won’t be able to stop!

About the author

Bestselling Author, Sheryl Browne, writes taut, twisty psychological thriller. Sheryl’s latest book publishing with fabulous BOOKOUTURE is DO I REALLY KNOW YOU? Her previous works include several psychological thrillers with Bookouture, the DI Matthew Adams Crime Thriller series and contemporary fiction novels The Rest of My Life and Learning to Love. A member of the Crime Writers’ Association and the Romantic Novelists’ Association, she also has short stories in Birmingham City University anthologies where she completed her MA in Creative Writing. Sheryl has obtained a Certificate of Achievement in Forensic Science and – according to readers – she makes an excellent psychopath.

Sheryl lives in Worcestershire UK with her husband and her rescue dogs, Brie and Pablo.

To find out more about Sheryl’s novels, go to http://www.facebook.com/SherylBrowne.Author/ or follow @SherylBrowne on Twitter. To find out more about Sheryl, go to http://www.sherylbrowne.com

My thoughts

Queen of the prologue, Sheryl, didn’t disappoint one bit! The opening to this book set the tone brilliantly and send a few shivers down my spine. As a person with a severe phobia, Do I Really Know You, had me on edge. I could well understand the intensity experienced. This is psych thriller and more. It’s terrifying at times.

The mystery of ‘who’ had me double guessing throughout. Maddie and Kiara were fantastically intriguing characters, both had plenty to tell. Their pasts played a super role and I enjoyed the chapters and moments, that took me as the reader, back to those times.

I have to praise the research that went into Nathan’s job. It must have taken ages and it was so worth it.

I’m sure my heart pounded as I read some of the scenes. I think I need to go and blow into a paper bag to calm down – haha. What a story!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Beautiful Ones by Julia Sutton – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2022/07/17/the-beautiful-ones-by-julia-sutton-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do I Really Know You by Sheryl Browne – review.

  1. Pingback: Liar Liar by LG Davis – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

  2. sherylbrowne says:

    Thanks so much for reading and sharing your brilliant review, Carla! I still have that paper bag image! Love it! 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s