The Beachside Christmas by Karen Clarke – review.

Description

Snow is falling and there’s romance in the air. Curl up for a cosy Christmas by the fire at Seaview Cottage…

When thirty-year-old Lily Ambrose’s latest relationship ends in disaster, she remembers happy childhood holidays in the seaside town of Shipley and decides it’s the perfect place for a fresh start.

But when Lily arrives, the town’s spirits are as low as her own: the local celebrity due to turn on the Christmas lights has gone on a cruise instead. Keen to prove herself, she calls in a favour and secures gorgeous reality star Ollie.

Lily’s neighbours are initially thrilled, but Ollie is as uncontrollable as he is good-looking. He can’t remember the town’s name, calls the Christmas decorations tacky, and manages to offend everyone. And whilst handsome but stubborn cameraman Craig tries to help, even he can’t stop Ollie’s madcap plans to stage a romance with Lily…

Will Lily be able to keep Ollie under control and bring the Christmas cheer back to Shipley – and find herself a real kiss under the mistletoe?

An addictive, heart-warming and uplifting read about friendship, romance, and Christmas spirit. Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Cathy Bramley and Debbie Johnson.

About the author

Karen Clarke is a multi-published author, currently writing psychological thrillers that explore the darker side of life and relationships.

Karen has previously written twelve romantic comedies and also co-writes thrillers with fellow author Amanda Brittany. Her short stories have been published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad.

Originally from Yorkshire, Karen has lived in Buckinghamshire in the UK for many years with her husband and three grown-up children. When she’s not writing, she reads a lot, loves photography, walking, baking and eating cake.

My thoughts

Brilliant! This book really made me feel like Christmas is approaching. It’s like jingle bell hell all wrapped up with a loud bow.

I loved this festive story. It was jam packed with humour and it contained plenty of laugh-out-loud moments. Lilly’s backstory, as in how she arrived at Shipley, gave real insight into her character. The scene when Ollie arrived at Lilly’s with camera operator, Craig, will stick with me for a while. I still have those funny images in my head. Mince pie anyone?

‘The Beachside Christmas’ had plenty of celebrity dazzle and the reality edge was well entertaining. I couldn’t help but chuckle at how the neighbours reacted to Ollie’s in-your-face presence. Trying to impress when you’re the newbie on the block, only to be totally embarrassed by your houseguest, is a hilarious setup and I felt for Lilly.

If you’re looking for something festive that will leave you belly laughing, check this seasonal offering out!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Life She Wants by Mel Sherratt – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/11/29/the-life-she-wants-by-mel-sherratt-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Beachside Christmas by Karen Clarke – review.

  1. Pingback: The Housemaid by Sarah A Denzil – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s