The Ex-Boyfriend by Rona Halsall – review.

Release date: 30th September 2020.

Description

He promised to love her until her dying day…

When Becca’s first love shows up on her social media feed, she can’t help but smile fondly. Once upon a time Connor was the love of her life, and though it was over ten years ago, he’s always held a place in her heart.

Then he sends her a message. He sounds happy – still kind and funny, still living across the world in Australia. But he wants to know everything about her life now. How can Becca tell him the truth? About her workaholic husband, her stressful job, and the challenges of caring for her elderly father and her longed-for, adorable but exhausting three-year-old daughter Mia?

Becca hesitates, knowing she shouldn’t even reply. But Connor lives on the other side of the world. Just how dangerous can becoming friends again be?

It feels harmless. Until Mia gets sick – in a way that no one can explain. And it starts to become clear – someone will do absolutely anything to make sure Becca never escapes her past…

A completely unputdownable psychological thriller – perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife, The Girl on the Train, and The Woman at the Window.

About the author

Rona is the author of Best Selling psychological thrillers published by Bookouture. Her sixth book will be out 30th September 2020.

She lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and two guinea pigs. She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she’s plotting her next book. She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

To find out more about Rona and her novels, go to:

Website: https://ronahalsall.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallAuthor

Twitter: @RonaHalsallAuth

Instagram: @ronahalsall

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18051355.Rona_Halsall

My thoughts

Oh my goodness, Rona weaves a fantastic plot around a parent’s worst nightmare. At times I felt my tension levels rising and my fists clenching for Becca and the injustice that she was going through. I had no idea who was trustworthy and who wasn’t which had me hurrying through the book to find out.

I loved the use of social media, more specifically Twitter, and Becca’s character was revealed with skill through her responses. Her dilemma was fantastic and Connor fuelled that brilliantly.

As for the characters, they were really well developed. I wanted to delve into what was causing all the tensions within the whole family, unleashing whatever secret were being kept. Mia’s little character was lovely and I felt disturbed by what was happening.

A great psychological thriller that totally reeled me in and not without its mega shocking surprises. A must read. Loved it!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ex-Boyfriend-completely-addictive-shocking-psychological-ebook/dp/B08DV2J46W/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other recent reads while you’re here…?

Hidden Company by SE England – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2020/09/25/hidden-company-by-se-england-review/ via @CKovachAuthor

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Ex-Boyfriend by Rona Halsall – review.

  1. Pingback: The Testaments by Margaret Atwood – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s