I Wanted To Tell You by Anna Mansell – review.

Description

‘Sometimes I think that if I’d found a way to talk, we’d be together now…’

When Helen finds a bundle of unsent love letters, tied with a red ribbon, and signed only ‘the love you wished I could be’, she wonders who they could belong to.

The same day, however, her husband Alex announces he’s leaving. She’d believed their love would last a lifetime, but now he’s gone and she hadn’t even realised there was anything wrong.

Desperate to understand, Helen doesn’t know where to look for answers. But the letters keep drawing her back. As she reads the words of loneliness, loss and regret, something in them helps her start to make sense of it all… Even as she realises someone has been keeping heart-breaking secrets.

But who do the letters belong to? Can the sender ever be reunited with the one they love, or is it too late? And when Helen finds out the truth about Alex, can she find it in her heart to forgive him, or will he never be the love she wished he could be?

An emotional, unmissable read, exploring the devastation of loss, the power of love to heal, and the truths that bind us all together. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Diane Chamberlain and Daniela Sacerdoti.

About the author

Anna had a brush with ‘fame’ as a magician’s assistant back in 1977. She later decided that being sawn in half by her magical performing father, at barely 6 months old, was too submissive a role. She vowed to channel the trauma in to something much more pro-actively creative. Having failed at acting, singing and professional murder mystery parties (she was ALWAYs the one to die!), she fell to something much more solitary: writing. She has written four novels, published by Bookouture, achieving Top 10 status on the iBooks chart, plus Amazon Top 100 in the UK, AUS and Canada, a German translation, and an audio book.

Anna lives on a dairy farm in Cornwall with her two children, her husband, and her ex-racing greyhound, Olive Dog.

My thoughts

From the off we are plunged into Helen’s story and I felt for her – big time! Without warning, her safe little world turns upside down. Forty something with a grown up son, works as a bus driver – all seemingly average. But there was nothing average about this novel. It was so beautifully written and with the letters entwined throughout, it tugged at my heartstrings, making this book quite the emotional rollercoaster.

Alongside Helen’s story, there are chapters told from Geoff’s point of view. Geoff is at another stage in his life as he cares for his much loved wife who has Alzheimer’s Disease. I can only say, heartbreaking.

I grew to love these characters and I found myself thinking about them long after I’d set the book down. I felt the characters could have been my friends or neighbours. There is such an authenticity about Anna’s writing, I felt I knew them. I also loved Helen’s friendship group. Everyone needs a group of friends like this.

All in all, a brilliant read. Definitely have some tissues at hand as the words in this book may cause a few tears. Extremely moving, well written and the characters are memorable. One to read, that’s for sure! I’ll miss George and Helen.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wanted-Tell-You-emotional-heartbreaking-ebook/dp/B07H2GZ1YL/

Thanks for reading!

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s