The Mother-in-Law by Karen King – review.

Publication date- 29 July

Description

He loves you now. He loved her first.

I’ve fallen in love with a man called Sam. And he’s perfect, just perfect.

It’s a whirlwind romance. And when our dream home falls through just before our wedding, we decide to move in with his parents. He says his mother, Evelyn, is the sweetest person. But I’m not so sure.

She’s obsessively protective over Sam. She wants to know where he is all the time. She wakes us up in the morning, bustling into our room like he’s a small child, not a grown man. She doesn’t want me to be alone with him. And with every day that passes – as I keep having accidents I can’t believe are coincidental – I start to fear more that she doesn’t want me to marry her son.

That she wants to be the only person he will ever love.

Then I overhear an argument between her and Sam’s dad. Evelyn has a secret. And it changes everything I thought I knew about the family I’m marrying into.

From that moment, I know that if I want to make it to my wedding day alive, I will need to be very, very careful…

An absolutely thrilling and gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of Shalini Boland, Shari Lapena, and The Woman in the Window.

About the author

Karen King is a multi-published bestselling author of fiction for both adults and children. She has also written several short stories for women’s magazines.

Currently published by Bookouture and Headline. Karen writes about the light and dark of relationships. Her debut psychological thriller, The Stranger in my Bed, was published by Bookouture in November 2020 and her second one, The Perfect Stepmother, was published in June 2021. She is contracted to write two more thrillers for Bookouture. The first one will be out later this year.

Karen’s romance novels for Headline include One Summer in Cornwall, published in April 2021 and The Best Christmas Ever published in October 2021. Her new romance, The Spanish Wedding Disaster, will be published in June this year.

My thoughts

Oh my goodness, I felt sorry for poor Dana. What a situation to be in! This likeable character had me rooting for her from the start. After the bang of the prologue, my heart was in my mouth.

The writing was slick, taking me from chapter to chapter without noticing how much time I had my head buried in this story. Absolutely gripping. The heart pounding moments and shocks were aplenty. The manor house – what can I say? It was beautifully described but the tone was well set so I had these moments where I felt Dana should be peering over her shoulder. No rest for the thriller reader – hehe.

If you crave skin tingling psychological thrillers that will keep you reading into the night, then ‘The Mother-in-Law’ simply has to go to the top of your reading pile!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Liar Liar by LG Davis – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2022/07/22/liar-liar-by-lg-davis-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Mother-in-Law by Karen King – review.

  1. Pingback: Unjust Bias by Liz Mistry – review! | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s