The Invite by Sheryl Browne – review.

Description

The invites went out weeks ago, and tonight, at a lavish manor house surrounded by friends and family, Kaitlin couldn’t be happier. But as the champagne corks pop, her dream party becomes her worst nightmare…

Staring at the stunning diamond solitaire on her finger, Kaitlin is finally getting the chance to introduce her best friend Zoe to her perfect fiancé. She hasn’t known Greg long, but he looks after her, and he loves playing dad to her young daughter. How could she say no when he’s already planned their elopement?

As guests arrive, why is Greg acting so shifty? And is that a flicker of recognition on Zoe’s face? And why does she look terrified every time her phone rings?

Kaitlin watches as Zoe knocks back her white wine and makes a beeline for Greg. After a heated conversation, Zoe stumbles towards the door and flees the party without looking back.

Days later, the police knock at Kaitlin’s door – Zoe is missing.

Kaitlin wants to believe her loving fiancé is not to blame, but she knows what she saw the night of the party. And when he lies to the police, can she trust the man she’s marrying? Could Kaitlin and her precious daughter’s life now be in danger too?

The Invite is an absolutely unmissable psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife. You’ll be hooked from the first page!

About the author

Bestselling Author, Sheryl Browne, writes taut, twisty psychological thriller. Sheryl’s latest book to be published with fabulous BOOKOUTURE is THE INVITE. Her previous works include the DI Matthew Adams Crime Thriller series, along with contemporary fiction novels The Rest of My Life and Learning to Love. A member of the Crime Writers’ Association and the Romantic Novelists’ Association, she also has short stories in Birmingham City University anthologies where she completed her MA in Creative Writing. Sheryl has obtained a Certificate of Achievement in Forensic Science and – according to readers – she makes an excellent psychopath.

Sheryl lives in Worcestershire UK with her husband and her rescue dogs, Brie and Pablo.

To find out more about Sheryl’s novels, go to http://www.facebook.com/SherylBrowne.Author/ or follow @SherylBrowne on Twitter. To find out more about Sheryl, go to http://www.sherylbrowne.com

My thoughts

Sheryl does it again! I got a tense page-turning thriller and I had so many theories as to who did it. It had me tied up in knots. I loved the police investigation side too, giving it a gritty edge with this particular storyline.

As for Kaitlin, I couldn’t help but like and wish well for her with all that was going on. I had this picture in my head at the beginning of this lovely little family but the loveliness was never set to last. And, why would it? We came here for psychological thrills and this book certainly packed them in well. There were lies, secrets and so much intrigue I had to read the pages without hesitation – haha.

There were some right awful characters and I enjoyed watching how their stories panned out too. What a thrilling, gripping rollercoaster of a story!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Midnight Killing by Sharon Dempsey – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2022/02/17/the-midnight-killing-by-sharon-dempsey-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Invite by Sheryl Browne – review.

  1. Pingback: White Boyfriend by LeeSha McCoy – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

  2. sherylbrowne says:

    Love this review, Carla! Thank you so, so much for reading The Invite and your lovely support. You’re amazing! 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s