The Midnight Killing by Sharon Dempsey – review.

Description

She’d cycled this way hundreds of times before, every twist and turn familiar. She didn’t know this would be the last. 

When the body of local architect James McCallum is found hanging in the grounds of his former school one cold, dark night, DI Danny Stowe and forensic psychologist Rose Lainey suspect foul play behind his apparent suicide.

To their astonishment, the trail leads to a 20-year-old cold case of a missing girl, and a teenage party. But what was James’ fascination with the case and how is it linked to his death?

Secrets don’t stay buried forever – but the real killer will stop at nothing to hide theirs…

An absolutely gripping and totally unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night! Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Val McDermid and Rachel Caine.

About the author

Sharon Dempsey is a crime writer and academic researcher. ‘Who took Eden Mulligan?’ is the first in a new crime series published in 2021, by Avon Harper Collins. She is a PhD candidate at Queen’s University, exploring class and gender in crime fiction.

My thoughts

‘The Midnight Killing’ had me haunted from the first couple of chapters and that’s down to the creepy and atmospheric setting. That horse chestnut at dawn – whoa! (You’ll have to read if if you want to know what I’m on about – hehe).

I love a story where the investigators have something personal going on and main characters, Danny and Rose, added many layers. Rose’s past was compelling whereas Danny brought a huge level of emotion to the table. Both had issues to resolve and I really enjoyed the dynamics between them. A DI and a forensic psychologist working together; what’s not to be thrilled about?

The actual investigation left my heart in my mouth and it touched me emotionally too. The weaving of the child who disappeared in the past and the hanged man of present, was clever.

This book took me on a journey that felt fresh, tense and exhilarating. It’s perfect for those who love a crime investigation with a historical element and I’d thoroughly recommend it!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Marriage Secret by Carey Baldwin – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2022/02/11/the-marriage-secret-by-carey-baldwin-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Midnight Killing by Sharon Dempsey – review.

  1. Pingback: The Invite by Sheryl Browne – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s