The Marriage Secret by Carey Baldwin – review.

Description

He married me despite my darkest secret. But am I safe now that I know his?

From the outside, my marriage to Zach was perfect: dream home, a perfect baby girl and passionate, all-consuming love. When we met, I confessed my darkest secret to him and he never judged me for it. Instead, he vowed to always protect me whatever the cost.

But as I cradle my gorgeous baby, I have to accept that the husband who used to be my everything, has changed. At first it was little things: expecting me to keep to a strict schedule, picking out my clothes for me. Now, he controls every aspect of my life: from how much money I have, to when I leave the house and who I can see.

One fateful night, a young woman is found murdered and Zach is a potential suspect. Turning towards me, a look of warmth returning to his eyes, he swears he’s innocent, and I realize there is only one solution. If I agree to be his alibi, he will keep my secret and our daughter can grow up in a loving home. In that moment, I do what any faithful wife would do: I stand by him.

But I know deep down, only one of us will make it out of this marriage alive.

A completely unputdownable and twist-filled psychological thriller from USA Today bestselling author Carey Baldwin. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Marriage and Gone Girl will be totally addicted to The Marriage Secret.

About the author

By day Carey is a dedicated pediatrician. By night she’s a USA Today bestselling and award winning author of edgy suspense. In addition to her MD, Carey also holds a PhD in clinical psychology. She loves reading and writing stories that keep you off balance and on the edge of your seat. In her spare time she enjoys hiking and chasing wildflowers.

My thoughts

Oh my! I’ve been so gripped by this book. I was fed one exciting thriller delicacy after another and the craving to continue with ‘just one more chapter’ was immense.

I absolutely felt for Holly as a main character. A new mother, doubting herself and being doubted. There was some true dark psychology at play here and it was tense. I found myself loathing her husband and being totally invested in unravelling the truth behind all that was going on.

‘The Marriage Secret’ is a book that is tough to put down. It plays with your mind and gives a real sense of claustrophobia. Then there was more; so much more. I’m not saying anything else, though. Put on your napkin, grab a knife and fork and taste this thriller delicacy for yourself. This is one stunning and slick book!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Guest Room by Rona Halsall – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2022/01/31/the-guest-room-by-rona-halsall-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Marriage Secret by Carey Baldwin – review.

  1. Pingback: The Midnight Killing by Sharon Dempsey – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s