The Guest Room by Rona Halsall – review.

Description

You think you’re safe in your home. You’re wrong.

Steph used to think her life was perfect. A happy marriage, two wonderful kids, and a home she felt safe in and called her own. But now her husband has walked out after thirty years, her daughter Bea is married and lives miles away, and Steph’s estranged son hasn’t made contact in years. Home doesn’t feel like the safe haven it once did.

When she begins to hear noises in the night, at first she thinks she’s imagining things. But then she finds open windows she knows she left closed, and a strange smell in the kitchen – and she knows none of it feels right.

Then her front window is smashed, and a young man named Noah helps her fix it. He’s fallen on hard times and Steph impulsively offers him a place to stay. He reminds her of her missing son, and as a mother she finds herself wanting to help him. Also, if he is there, she won’t be home alone.

Before long Noah is living in Bea’s old bedroom, paying rent, and getting his life back on track. Steph’s ex-husband and Bea are furious. But Steph feels secure at last, and that’s what matters.

Until the strange things start happening once more.

And Steph realises that someone is out to scare her…

Someone who will stop at nothing to make her never, ever feel safe again.

The most twisty and unputdownable thriller of the year – perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards and Gone Girl.

About the author

Rona is the author of Best Selling psychological thrillers published by Bookouture. She loves puzzles and her challenge is to find domestic storylines with twists that her readers will never guess.

She was born in Nottingham, grew up near Blackpool and went to college in Leeds. She then moved to Snowdonia, North Wales where she brought up her family while working as a business mentor. She now lives on the Isle of Man with her husband and two dogs.

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she’s plotting her next book. She has three children and two step-children who are all grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories.

To find out more about Rona and her novels, visit her website: ronahalsall.com

My thoughts

Author, Rona Halsall, tapped into one of my greatest fears with this book. I watch an unhealthy amount of horror and not much truly terrifies me except the thought of a home intrusion. This book sent shivers down my spine.

Steph, was the perfect character in which to explore these themes. Newly independent, a need to prove herself and then, eek! I’m not saying too much as I don’t want to ruin any surprises.

‘The Guest Room’ is a twisty read and I had so many suspicions and fully felt the weight of Steph’s confusion. One character I found captivating was Noah. I enjoyed how his story spilled out and in many respects, this story isn’t a black and white one. Joe or Joanne average is a little more grey and this book explores human imperfections and fragility with skill.

I loved the dedication and the cover is an absolute cracker. If you crave bags of mystery and an immediate sense of danger, then read The Guest Room!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Gods in Shackles by Sangita Iyer – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2022/01/29/gods-in-shackles-by-sangita-iyer-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Guest Room by Rona Halsall – review.

  1. Pingback: The Marriage Secret by Carey Baldwin – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s