The New Girl by Ruth Heald – review.

Date of publication – 25th Jan

Description

Behind her dream life hides the perfect nightmare.

I couldn’t believe it when I got the call to offer me my dream job. It was right in the heart of the city with a flat provided. I jumped at the chance and within days I had made new friends and am dating a wonderful man. For the first time in years, I feel safe.

It’s a world away from the life I ran from…

But soon strange things begin to happen in my flat: odd noises in the night, the feeling that I’m being watched. When I discover an old dress hidden behind my wardrobe and wear it to work, the atmosphere chills instantly. The dress belonged to a girl my boss would rather forget. The girl before me who vanished without a trace.

I tell myself not to worry; that I’m just imagining things. But when a young woman arrives on my doorstep, she warns me to leave my new life behind. She tells me there are more girls like me and we are more connected than I could have ever imagined.

Then I come face to face with the reason I ran all those years ago and it soon becomes clear: someone knows my secret. And they will do anything to keep me silent.

A totally gripping, unputdownable and twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and You.

About the author

Ruth Heald is the bestselling author of psychological thrillers THE WEDDING, I KNOW YOUR SECRET, THE MOTHER’S MISTAKE and THE WOMAN UPSTAIRS, and the relationship drama 27: SIX FRIENDS, ONE YEAR.

Ruth studied Economics at Oxford University and then worked in an eclectic mix of sectors from nuclear decommissioning to management consulting. She worked at the BBC for nine years before leaving to write full time. Ruth is fascinated by psychology and finding out what drives people to violence, destruction and revenge. She’s married with two children and her novels explore our greatest fears in otherwise ordinary, domestic lives.

You can connect with Ruth on Twitter @RJ_Heald, or Facebook /RJHealdauthor

My thoughts

The first word that comes to mind is, wow! To say this book has captured current themes that we see in the news regularly is an understatement. I felt for Sophie, being in the position of someone in debt and someone who needed to make things work at all costs.

There is so much about The New Girl that gave me the creeps. Her living arrangements, the house, her work place, her ex, her vulnerability. I felt her frustration in her initial job, one that wasn’t taxing her that could easily have led to a life that would be a waste of her talents and hard work. I got easily swept up in her new life and job; the bright lights of London and all the opportunities it could bring.

The surrounding cast were cleverly used leading to a denouement that I did not see coming, one that is clearly planted like a film in my mind. I’d love to see this made as a mini series. Fantastic, addictive, with a sense of danger at every turn!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Ashes of Innocence by Phil Price – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2022/01/17/ashes-of-innocence-by-phil-price-review-2/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The New Girl by Ruth Heald – review.

  1. Pingback: Gods in Shackles by Sangita Iyer – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s