I Know What You’ve Done by Dorothy Koomson – review.

Description

What if one of your neighbours was trying to kill you?

Do you have any idea what the people you know are capable of? Bestselling author of All My Lies Are True, Dorothy Koomson, asks how well you can really know your neighbours. Fans of Lisa Jewell and Louise Candlish will rip through the pages of this addictive new thriller.

When Rae answers her front door one afternoon, her neighbour, Priscilla, thrusts a book into her hands before collapsing.

After Priscilla is rushed to hospital, Rae discovers the book is actually a diary full of all their neighbours’ deepest secrets.

Rae knows she should hand the book over to the police investigating Priscilla’s attack… but she’s spotted her husband’s name in the diary and she needs to know what he – and everyone else – has done.

But if someone tried to kill Priscilla to keep their secret, how long before Rae is in danger, too?

A book of secrets. A neighbourhood of suspects. A dozen reasons to kill.

About the author

Dorothy Koomson is the award-winning author of 15 novels and has been making up stories since she was 13 when she used to share her stories with her convent school friends. Her published titles include: Tell Me Your Secret, The Brighton Mermaid, The Friend, When I Was Invisible, That Girl From Nowhere, The Flavours of Love, The Woman He Loved Before, Goodnight, Beautiful and The Chocolate Run.

Dorothy’s first novel, The Cupid Effect, was published in 2003 (when she was quite a bit older than 13). Her third book, My Best Friend’s Girl, was selected for the Richard & Judy Summer Reads of 2006 and went on to sell over 500,000 copies. While her fourth novel, Marshmallows For Breakfast, has sold in excess of 250,000 copies. Dorothy’s books, The Ice Cream Girls and The Rose Petal Beach were both shortlisted for the popular fiction category of the British Book Awards in 2010 and 2013, respectively.

Dorothy’s novels have been translated into over 30 languages, and a TV adaptation loosely based on The Ice Cream Girls was shown on ITV1 in 2013. After briefly living in Australia, Dorothy now lives in Brighton.

In 2019 Dorothy was awarded the Image Award by The Black British Business Awards to celebrate and honour her achievements.

For more information on Dorothy Koomson visit http://www.dorothykoomson.co.uk

My thoughts

Ooh, that book of secrets had me whizzing through the chapters. ‘I Know What You’ve Done’ is slick, full of intrigue and packed with characters that all have a story to tell and secrets to hide. The stakes are high and the levels of desperation in these characters renders this an addictive read.

I found Rae easy to identify with. Family woman, lovely house and children. The moment Priscilla turns up, the book screams that everything is about to end up in the air and it did not disappoint. There are shocks around every corner.

I love that the book was set in Brighton. The descriptions were so good, I had this great image in my head of the street. I totally enjoyed the diary extracts too. Fantastic.

If you love secrets, lies and a web of a plot, then do not hesitate to get this book. It will give you that and more!

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Little Girl Lost by Derek Coleman – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/12/20/little-girl-lost-by-derek-coleman-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

http://www.carlakovach.com

Advertisement

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I Know What You’ve Done by Dorothy Koomson – review.

  1. Pingback: Ouija by Zoé-Lee O’Farrell – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s