The New Wife by Sue Watson – review.

Description

You can never truly know what goes on behind closed doors…

My darling son, Sam, is marrying his childhood sweetheart and I couldn’t be prouder of the man he’s grown into. Walking out on his abusive father all those years ago was the best thing I ever did. And today he stands, tall and handsome, saying ‘I do’ to my dream daughter-in-law. If I hadn’t pushed them together all those years ago, he might never have found a girl as perfect as Lauren. It’s true what they say, mother always knows best.

But weeks later, Lauren is dead and police cars fill the driveway of their idyllic countryside home. As they question Sam, I sense he’s hiding something. Why won’t he look me in the eye? And who does he rush off to meet as soon as the police are gone?

Desperate, I do what every good mother would do: I let myself into Sam and Lauren’s bedroom. What I see, I will never be able to forget. My son’s beautiful new wife was hiding a dangerous secret. Can I clear my son’s name? And could my life be in danger now too?

A completely gripping, utterly twisted thriller that will leave your jaw on the floor. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Wife Between Us and The Woman in the Window.

About the author

Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue explores the darker side of life, writing psychological thrillers with big twists. Originally from Manchester, she now lives with her family in leafy Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – and procrastinating. Her hobby is eating cake while watching diet and exercise programmes from the sofa, a skill she’s perfected after many years of practice.

My thoughts

‘The New Wife’ was such a fantastic mystery and it had me guessing until the end! I love all of Sue’s books and this one was no exception. What created a fabulous atmosphere was the location; the moors on Dartmoor. I imagined the scenes playing out within this sparse and baron backdrop, set amongst nature and not much else. I could picture this desolate house and the loneliness that might ensue.

I enjoyed the interactions and drama amongst the characters. I found Lauren’s family totally intriguing, and I loved some of the tensions that played out through dinner and visits. They certainly had me nail biting. As it was all told from Georgie’s perspective, I felt I got to know her character deeply and I liked being in her head. The actual writing style is like revisiting an old friend. Within moments, I’d slipped into the story, allowing the voice to carry me through the whole lot.

I can totally recommend ‘The New Wife.’ If you’re after an edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller that won’t allow you to put it down, this is it. It quickly bites and it doesn’t let go!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/New-Wife-gripping-psychological-thriller-ebook/dp/B09DL7V9KB/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Dead Mercy by Noelle Holten – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/11/19/dead-mercy-by-noelle-holten-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The New Wife by Sue Watson – review.

  1. Pingback: Fallen Angel by DK Hood – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s