Locked Away by MA Comley – review.


When the past catches up with the present…

… the result can be deadly.

DI Sara Ramsey and her team are tasked with finding an elusive kidnapper. Someone driven by dark secrets. Several women have been abducted, some in broad daylight, but why?

With few clues and even less evidence, can Sara find the women before their abductor moves onto the next stage in their warped plan?

In the midst of one of the most depraved investigations of her career, Sara is dealt a shocking blow by her partner, Carla. Sara is pushed to her limits personally and professionally.

Can she remain true to herself and prevent a massacre from happening?

About the author

M A Comley is a KINDLE UNLIMITED ALL-STAR author as well as being a New York Times, USA Today, Amazon Top 20 bestselling author, she has topped the book charts on iBooks as a top 5 bestselling and reached #2 bestselling author on Barnes and Noble. Over two and a half million copies sold world wide. She’s a British author who moved to France in 2002, and that’s when she turned her hobby into a career.

When she’s not writing crime novels as well as caring for her elderly mother, she’s either reading or going on long walks with her rescue pup Labrador, Dex.

Here is a list of her books, Cruel Justice, Impeding Justice, Final Justice, Foul Justice, Guaranteed Justice, Ultimate Justice, Virtual Justice, Hostile Justice, Tortured Justice, Rough Justice, Dubious Justice, Calculated Justice, Twisted Justice, Prime Justice, Heroic Justice, Shameful Justice, Immoral Justice and Overdue Justice. There are several novellas and short stories in the series too.

No Right To Kill, Killer Blow, The Dead Can’t Speak, Deluded and The Murder Pact in the DI Sara Ramsey series.

Her other successful series are: The DI Sally Parker thriller series, which includes WRONG PLACE, NO HIDING PLACE, COLD CASE, Deadly encounter and Lost Innocence

The DI Kayli Bright Trilogy – The Missing Children, Killer on the Run, Hidden Agenda, Murderous Betrayal and Dying Breath.


There are three books in the Intention series, Sole Intention, Grave Intention and Devious Intention.

Plus a couple of standalone novels – EVIL IN DISGUISE and FOREVER WATCHING YOU.

I’ve also penned a cozy mystery Private Investigator series – Murder at the Wedding, Murder at the Hotel and Murder by the Sea.

As well as co-authoring the Deception Series co-authored by fellow NY Times bestselling author, Linda S Prather Clever Deception, Tragic Deception and Sinful Deception.

If you’d like to keep up to date with new releases you can find me on Facebook by following this link http://smarturl.it/sps7jh or sign up for my newsletter http://eepurl.com/b5pSFD

If you fancy a lighter read, why not try one of my romances: A Time to Heal, and A Time for Change–Based on a TRUE story. I also have a selection of short stories and novelettes available which I know you’ll enjoy.

You can find out more about me at the following blogs.



My thoughts

What a shocker of an instalment in the DI Sara Ramsey series. As for the police team, I carried so much tension for Carla and her story. Then there was the case. What a moral dilemma for me as the reader in choosing who I should root for.

As for the crime, be prepared for something super sinister and to have feelings all over the place. The concept of black and white thinking has no place here. There are so many shades of grey, that’s what makes everything far more interesting. I think, given the content and the questions this book threw up, it would make a good talking point amongst people who’ve read it, especially in where blame lies.

I love a book that makes me think and as I’ve been personally affected by some of the content, I relished the chance to have a real good think. I know where my sympathies lie but who would have yours? That is the big question!


Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The House on the Water’s Edge by CE Rose – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/08/11/the-house-on-the-waters-edge-by-ce-rose-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.





About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Locked Away by MA Comley – review.

  1. Pingback: My non-fiction reads of the past few weeks! | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s