The Family Across the Street by Nicole Trope – review.

Description

Sometimes, the most perfect families are hiding the most terrible secrets. How well do you know the people next door…?

Everybody wants to live on Hogarth Street, the pretty, tree-lined avenue with its white houses. The new family, The Wests, are a perfect fit. Katherine and Josh seem so in love and their gorgeous five-year-old twins race screeching around their beautiful emerald-green lawn.

But soon people start to notice: why don’t they join backyard barbecues? Why do they brush away offers to babysit? Why, when you knock at the door, do they shut you out, rather than inviting you in?

Every family has secrets, and on the hottest day of the year, the truth is about to come out. As a tragedy unfolds behind closed doors, the dawn chorus is split by the wail of sirens. And one by one the families who tried so hard to welcome the Wests begin to realise: Hogarth Street will never be the same again.

A completely gripping, twist-packed psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell.

About the author

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because-as her professor pointed out- ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’ She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree in Children’s Literature.

The idea for her first published novel, The Boy under the Table, was so scary that it took a year for her to find the courage to write the emotional story. She went on to publish a further five novels in Australia before joining Bookouture in 2019. She is a USA Today and Amazon bestseller in the USA, UK, AUS and CAN.

She lives in Sydney with her husband and three children

My thoughts

Eek! What a terrifyingly tense book this was. It began with a bang, letting me know that danger was imminent, but successfully keeping the mystery cloaked until the right time.

Everything happens in a few hours so the the book had a real-time feel to it. There are four main character perspectives. Logan, Gladys, Katherine and the perpetrator. Gladys came with her own heartbreaking story. Logan came with baggage and inquisitiveness. The chapters written from the perpetrators perspective were totally terrifying and as for Katherine… no parent should ever be in her position.

I very much enjoyed the reveals near the end and they left me thinking. If you love a thriller with deep psychological aspects and bags of immediate danger to keep you biting your nails, then ‘The Family Across the Street’ is what you’re looking for!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Home-Sweet-unputdownable-psychological-thriller-ebook/dp/B094JJ1KYT/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Friend Request by Laura Marshall – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/08/03/friend-request-by-laura-marshall-review/ via @CKovachAuthor

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Family Across the Street by Nicole Trope – review.

  1. Pingback: Daughter of the Shipwreck by Lora Davies – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s