Widow’s Island by LA Larkin – review.

Description

Her heart beats fast in her chest as she cautiously opens the front door and takes in the smashed plates on the kitchen floor and upended furniture. She follows the trail of red droplets on the floor, knowing what she’s about to find. Knowing that something terrible has happened…

Stephanie Miller is an average working mom. She isn’t perfect, but when her war hero husband dies and her work puts her in news headlines, her past is laid bare for all to see. Determined to make a new life for herself and teenage daughter, Amy, she fears it’s only a matter of time before the biggest mistake of her life is revealed.

As Stephanie and Amy take refuge on a remote island in Washington, it feels like they’re learning how to live again. But then they come home to graffiti on their garage door, there’s no escaping the hate online, and Stephanie is sure somebody is watching from the shadows outside their house.

When one of Stephanie’s close friends is murdered in her own home, she knows her worst fears have come true. Someone knows the truth. And she must become the fighter her husband always knew her to be if she is to protect her daughter, and everything left in the world that she loves.

An absolutely nail-biting thriller from bestselling author, L.A. Larkin. Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Gregg Olsen. An addictive, unputdownable, up-all-night read.

About the author

L.A. Larkin’s crime-thrillers have won her fans all over the world. Described as a superb “chiller thriller” writer by Marie Claire magazine, and praised by the king of crime, Lee Child, for her “fast and immersive” thrillers, Louisa’s novels will keep you reading all night.

Widow’s Island, her most nail-biting crime-thriller yet, goes on sale June 3, 2021.

Here’s what readers of are already saying about Widow’s Island:

“This book was amazing. It gets you from one page in.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“I couldn’t put this one down! I don’t know where to begin with this thriller thrill ride. Twists and turns, surprises to keep you on the edge of your seat.” Heather D. Media, NetGalley, 5 stars

“I was genuinely on the edge of my seat throughout and I didn’t put it down from start to finish.” Victoria J., NetGalley, 5 stars

“Everything you want in a thriller—a tightly paced and crafted, a butt-kicking but complex heroine and escalating jeopardy that will have your heart in your mouth.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

C.J. Carver described Widow’s Island as, “Dark and menacing, Larkin’s characters are heart-wrenchingly real”

Peter James, “Intrigue in spades”

Marie Claire, “This chiller thriller will reel you in”

Good Housekeeping, “Brilliant!”

James Phelan, “‘L.A. Larkin is a world-class thriller writer”

Literature Works, “Exciting, original and utterly captivating”

Bookseller + Publisher, “Exciting, compulsive reading”

Connect with L.A. Larkin:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LALarkinAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lalarkinauthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/la_larkin_author/

Join her quarterly emailed newsletter: https://lalarkin.com/

My thoughts

Wow, wow and more wows! Thank you LA Larkin for hi-lighting this worrying underbelly of our society in Widow’s Island. We’re talking internet trolls.

This thriller is absolutely awesome from start to end. I literally devoured it in two days. The serial killer was one of the scariest I’ve ever come across in a book. The author delves brilliantly into the world of misogynistic internet trolls. The scariest thing about all this is, these type of people exist and they’re all there for us to see on social media. I mean seriously, you don’t have to look far. The other week, I read a comment on a popular social media platform where the poster said if you rape women, you’d better kill them. The people described in this book exist all around us which made reading it even scarier.

If you read this book, you have to read the letter at the end. I wish I could say the content was eye opening but I come across this thing all too often. Maybe I go searching for it a little as I’m a ‘know your enemy’ type of person. You can’t be too aware in life.

I absolutely loved the island and the isolating backdrop it provided for the story. It was everything you’d expect from a place that was fairly cut off from the mainland. This only heightened the tension.

Main character, Stephanie, was totally relatable. With her being a career-minded mother of a teenager, it got me thinking, if she could be broken, anyone could be. The book also delves into tactics used in the dirtiest corners of the political world. It’s well thought provoking.

How would I describe this crime thriller? It’s one of the most gripping that I’ve read and I’d say read it now. It’s terrifying, anger-inducing and most of all, it’s insightful as it opens a door into a world we’d all rather believe didn’t exist!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Widows-Island-absolutely-nail-biting-heart-pounding-ebook/dp/B08Z3WJGWP/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Christmas Magic at the Writers’ Retreat by Julia Sutton – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/06/10/christmas-magic-at-the-writers-retreat-by-julia-sutton-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Widow’s Island by LA Larkin – review.

  1. Pingback: Lucky by Rachel Edwards – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s