The Forever Home by Sue Watson – review.

Publication date: 4th June, 2021.

Description

You thought you’d always be safe there… you were wrong.

Carly had thought they’d always live there. The beautiful Cornish cliffside house they’d taken on as a wreck, that Mark had obsessively re-designed and renovated – a project that had made him famous. It was where they’d raised their children, where they’d sat cosily on the sofa watching storms raging over the sea below. It was where they’d promised to keep each other’s secrets…

Until now. Because Mark has fallen in love. With someone he definitely shouldn’t have. Someone who isn’t Carly. And suddenly their family home doesn’t feel like so much of a safe haven.

Carly thinks forever should mean forever though: it’s her home and she’ll stay there. Even the dark family secrets it contains feel like they belong to her. But someone disagrees. And, as threats start to arrive at her front door, it becomes clear, someone will stop at nothing. Because someone wants to demolish every last thing that makes Carly feel safe. Forever.

An utterly unputdownable psychological thriller about what lies are hidden in the most beautiful homes. Perfect for fans of Date Night, Gone Girl and The Woman in the Window.

About the author

Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written seventeen novels, and many have been translated into several languages. Sue is now exploring the darker side of life with her thrillers OUR LITTLE LIES, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, THE EMPTY NEST, THE SISTER-IN-LAW and the latest, FIRST DATE.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her family in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – okay, procrastinating. Her hobby is eating cake, while watching diet and exercise programmes from the sofa, a skill she’s perfected after many years of practice.

more info visit Sue’s website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter

My thoughts

This book is fabulous! I’ve never been so angry for a character as I was for leading lady, Carly; and I loved that I was angry. How blooming well entertaining and gripping.

This beautiful forever home had been featured endlessly on TV in a show presented by the Andersons, with Mark the husband being the main feature. On the surface, life seems brilliant with their success envied by all, but this description of the house made me think of the relationships that played out through the book.

‘Breakable, the foundations moving all the time, miniscule, but real nonetheless.’

I love this underlying rumble that nothing ever stays the same even if you can’t see or feel the changes. Time moves even if we want to stay where we are forever. We just hope that these movements don’t destroy us. I loved how the cracks in the building were reflected in the cracking relationships.

As for the location, it couldn’t be better. Who doesn’t love a dreamy seaside town? Looe was perfect and there was a real sense of setting. The sea crashing against the rocks; saltiness in the air; the cutesy cafes. Let me stop… I’m not describing a romance at the seaside here, this book will have you clutching it like you’re strangling it. That’s how emotional this journey was. I was so on team Carly throughout.

Without saying too much, I can tell you that those blue skies build up to a great big thunderclap which kept me on the edge of my seat. For thrill seekers who love it scary, for people who like books that delve into the ugliest sides of human nature and for an unforgettable ending… you need to read The Forever Home!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forever-Home-incredibly-psychological-breathtaking-ebook/dp/B08YDCN27S/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Good Sisters by Helen Phifer – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/05/28/the-good-sisters-by-helen-phifer-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Forever Home by Sue Watson – review.

  1. Pingback: Christmas Magic at the Writers’ Retreat by Julia Sutton – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s