Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove by Kim Nash – review.

Description

When thirty-four-year-old Nellie Wagstaff loses her job and discovers her fiancé is a cheating scumbag in a single day, she feels like the world has come crashing down. And that’s before the solicitor’s letter, along with a request to visit a place she hasn’t thought about for a very long time.

Heartbroken, Nellie escapes to the beautiful seaside town of Muddleford in Dorset, where she discovers she’s inherited more than she ever bargained for. Nellie never knew why her mother stopped talking to her sister, but now childhood memories of Muddleford come flooding back: long hot summers, the sea glistening beyond the sandy cove… and a stolen kiss with a boy called Jack.

Jack, now a devilishly handsome vet, has the local pet owners swooning over him, and as Nellie and he become close once more, and she gets used to gossiping with the locals and sipping wine at her beach hut with sand between her toes, she’s sure she can feel sparks flying once more. But just as she thinks she might be able to open her heart again, her newest frenemy, the glamourous Natalia, tells her a secret about Jack that changes everything.

Nellie will never know why her mother and aunt parted ways. She’ll sell the house, forget about Jack, and get back to real life. Because there’s nothing for her in Muddleford… is there?

An utterly uplifting and completely hilarious summer read about learning to trust yourself and of finding love and friendship in the least expected places for fans of Jessica Redland, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin.

About the author

Kim Nash is an author of uplifting, funny, heartwarming, feel-good, romantic fiction and has always wanted to write books since she was a little girl.

Her latest book is Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove.

Her book published in June 2020, Sunshine and Second Chances, was shortlisted for the 2020 Amazon Kindle Storyteller Award.

She lives in Staffordshire with son Ollie and English Setter rescue dog Roni, is Head of Publicity for publisher Bookouture (part of Hachette UK) and is a book blogger at http://www.kimthebookworm.co.uk.

Kim won the Romantic Novelists Association’s Media Star of the Year in 2016, which she still can’t quite believe. She is now quite delighted to be a member of the RNA as an author.

When she’s not working or writing, and in non-Covid times, Kim can be found walking her dog at Cannock Chase, reading, writing, standing on the sidelines of a football pitch cheering on Ollie, and binge watching box sets on the TV. She’s also quite partial to a spa day and a gin and tonic (not at the same time!) Kim also runs a book club in Cannock, Staffs and organises local and national reader/author events.

Amazing Grace was her debut novel which came out in April 2019.

Escape to Giddywell Grange is Kim’s second novel and was published in September 2019.

Sunshine and Second Chances is Kim’s third novel and was published in June 2020.

Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove is her fourth book and was published in March 2021.

Connect with Kim on Social Media here:

Twitter: (@KimTheBookworm) https://twitter.com/KimTheBookworm

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KimTheBookWorm/

Instagram: @Kim_the_bookworm

My thoughts

This book is my feel-good book of the year!

I absolutely flew through this delightful book! Its exploration into grief and regret took me on a very meaningful journey along with Nellie. Friendship was also a strong theme and each relationship showed this off in a different way. I found myself getting upset at her initial run of bad luck, then what followed was a whole new world of excitement and anticipation of what might be coming.

Nellie is a great character, one I easily managed to root for and identify with. She’s down-to-earth, totally relatable and definitely best friend material. I so wanted good things to happen to her. I enjoyed the Jack and Natalia thread too and I was fond of Shivani, her friend. One of the character’s was a total star and that was Norman. He was something else!

Muddleford Cove felt like a perfect setting. I could feel the sea air on my face as I read the story and I wanted to be there. I loved the stark contrast between Nellie’s home in Staffordshire and the house on the coast.

Kim definitely writes emotional scenes with so much heart as I really felt I knew these characters and the issues they were faced with. There is also just the right amount of humour. There’s a scene that involves a dog mounting another dog in a park and it had me in stitches. I’ll say no more but I howled with laughter.

Would I recommend this book? Absolutely. It’s a perfect feel good read and I loved every moment of it!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Moonlight-Over-Muddleford-Cove-unputdownable-ebook/dp/B08VHNLRML/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/03/28/queenie-by-candice-carty-williams-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove by Kim Nash – review.

  1. Pingback: The Next Girl – 99p/99c – grab a bargain while you can. Happy Easter! | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s