Close My Eyes by Beverley Harvey – review.

Publication date: 23rd March, 2021.

Description

It hits her: the same strange smell that’s been following her for weeks, and the shadow of an image slides into her mind but is gone just as quickly. Gripped by an ice-cold fear, in that one terrible moment, she realises: it’s not a dream she’s remembering. It’s something that actually happened.

You’ve started to remember…

Beth never had any reason to doubt her peaceful, happy upbringing. Then she suddenly starts getting awful flashes of an event from her past – a vicious attack from an unknown person. And she thinks it could be more than just a nightmare. But how could she forget something this big?

Someone wants you to forget…

With no husband or boyfriend to turn to, she asks her trusted family and old friends for reassurance, only to hear that it must all be in her head. Meanwhile, the flashes get stronger, more frightening, and more details start to come back to her – details she knows she couldn’t have invented. But these are people who have known her all her life and have her best interests at heart. Who should she believe?

What will you risk to discover the truth?

Beth is determined to understand the meaning of these memories even if it means going it alone. But is she prepared for what she will find? Because the truth will ruin someone’s life – and they will stop at nothing to keep the past forgotten.

A heart-stopping psychological suspense novel that asks: who would you trust the most? Your friends? Your family? Or your own mind? Fans of T.M. Logan, Claire McGowan and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by Close My Eyes.

About the author

“A very skilled, wise, and intuitive writer, who creates fully-fleshed, highly relatable characters… Will keep you hooked to the very last page!”

From a tender age, a diet of Enid Blyton ignited Beverley Harvey’s love of books and she’s been reading ever since – albeit her tastes are more varied these days.

Throughout Beverley’s many years spent working in advertising and PR, she’d always wanted to write fiction. In 2015 a creative writing course inspired her debut novel, Seeking Eden, which was published in 2017. The sequel, Eden Interrupted, soon followed.

Beverley’s third novel – The Perfect Liar, her first with Bookouture – is a departure from contemporary romance and fulfils a long-time goal to publish a gripping psychological thriller. Book Four (her second thriller) is also underway.

Born in Yorkshire, and raised in Kent, Beverley currently lives in West Sussex with her partner and their adorable terrier. When not writing, you’ll find her reading, walking the dog or listening to rock music.

My thoughts

First thing, I love the way the book was structured with (almost) alternating chapters between Beth and Gemma; two close friends with compelling events going on behind their own closed doors which had me gripped from start to end.

I read this almost 400 page book in 2.5 days and there was a reason for that. I cared big-time about the characters. It’s also true that I found both characters to be totally relatable. We’ve all either been a Beth or Gemma (maybe to a lesser degree) or we know a Beth or Gemma. If you don’t personally then I’m sure the #MeToo movement highlighted some key issues for you to ponder over. Every element of this book screamed real. The events and happenings weren’t over dramatised which only added to the authenticity.

Some of the topics examined were PTSD and anxiety, and the brain’s power to shut disturbing life events away until triggers force them back into the forefront of the mind. ‘Close My Eyes’ is a powerful book and quite terrifyingly shows how a person’s world can be thrown into turmoil without warning. I loved the ending too!

If you enjoy a real feeling psychological thriller that’s full of tension, mystery and will have you racing through every page, then ‘Close My Eyes’ is your book!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Close-My-Eyes-unputdownable-psychological-ebook/dp/B08V1X18VS/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Guest Book by CL Pattison – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/03/17/the-guest-book-by-cl-pattison-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Close My Eyes by Beverley Harvey – review.

  1. Pingback: The Other Passenger by Louise Candlish – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s