The Wedding by Ruth Heald – review.

Publication date: 3rd March, 2021.

Description

Just four words were printed in the card. He doesn’t love you.

I’ve been dreaming about this day – marrying Adam, my childhood sweetheart, who I’ve loved for eighteen years.

I didn’t realise the perfect day would turn into the perfect nightmare.

I was so excited to send out the wedding invitations, carefully writing everyone’s names on thick cream paper in beautiful cursive script.

I had no idea I was inviting someone to destroy our marriage.

I couldn’t wait to say ‘I do’ surrounded by loved ones clinking champagne glasses.

I couldn’t imagine that one of them would try to hurt me.

It was meant to be the first day of the rest of our lives.

I never thought it would be the end of my life as I knew it.

We were meant to share our vows, to toast our future. But when the truth comes out, shocking the onlooking guests and ripping my heart out, is a happy ever after possible?

A completely gripping and totally addictive read that will get your blood pressure rising and send shivers down your spine. Fans of Date Night, The Sister-in-Law and The Girl on the Train will devour this twisty, dark and gasp-worthy page-turner in one swift gulp!

About the author

Ruth Heald is the bestselling author of psychological thrillers I KNOW YOUR SECRET, THE MOTHER’S MISTAKE and THE WOMAN UPSTAIRS, and the relationship drama 27: SIX FRIENDS, ONE YEAR.

Ruth studied Economics at Oxford University and then worked in an eclectic mix of sectors from nuclear decommissioning to management consulting. She worked at the BBC for nine years before leaving to write full time. Ruth is fascinated by psychology and finding out what drives people to violence, destruction and revenge. She’s married with two children and her novels explore our greatest fears in otherwise ordinary, domestic lives.

You can connect with Ruth on Twitter @RJ_Heald, or Facebook /RJHealdauthor

My thoughts

Once again, Ruth has written an unputdownable psychological thriller. Soon into the book, poor Lauren, the bride-to-be, starts to receive sinister gifts. Then came the scary happenings which absolutely set me on edge while reading. Cue the tension.

I loved how the mystery then deepened. So many suspects but not once did I want to believe that any of them could be tormenting Lauren, but someone was and I had to stay up into the early hours to reach the end.

I have to mention the Thai location. It really made me feel as though I was there, making lockdown that little bit better. So I got a healthy dose of escapism too.

Lauren was a likeable character, someone you can properly root for. The two main perspectives used in the book were Lauren and Adam, her fiancé. I found his chapters gave me further insight into what was happening and I enjoyed those just as much. I particularly loved the flashback chapters.

The book starts with a deadly bang that had me turning the pages fast, and the revelations were shocking. Just when I thought I had it all sewn up, my theories unravelled which totally kept me on my toes. If you love a fabulous twisty turny read, then this is it!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wedding-totally-gripping-psychological-thriller-ebook/dp/B08PKSLD9T/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Girl in the Missing Poster by Barbara Copperthwaite – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/02/23/the-girl-in-the-missing-poster-by-barbara-copperthwaite-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s