‘Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?’ by Kristen Bailey – review.

Publication date: 11th January, 2020.

Description

It’s normal to wish that your baby came with a snooze button, right?

When I got pregnant, Will and I didn’t have a clue what we were signing up for. It turns out that there’s loads we weren’t warned about:

1) In the middle of the night you’ll be begging Siri for advice on getting your baby to sleep. (In case you’re wondering, whale music doesn’t work.)

2) If you make the mistake of going to a nightclub you’ll nod off, drool, and be woken up by an angry bouncer.

3) You’ll spend more time spooning your child’s cuddly donkey than your own boyfriend.

4) Communication with your other half will be via post-it notes on the fridge, mainly telling him to buy more milk.

5) Sex is something that happened in another dimension.

But even if I feel like I’m waiting for my motherhood powers to come in the post, at least I’ve got Will. Our old life – festivals, sambuca shots, an actual sex life – might be a distant memory, but we can get through anything together, can’t we?

At least that’s what I thought until, one day, Will walked out on us… If I’m on my own (apart from Siri, obviously) can I do this whole parenting thing? Or I am destined to lose my sanity one sleepless night at a time?

A totally hilarious and absolutely relatable tale for anyone who has survived parenthood purely on microwave meals, wishing for an IV drip of coffee to get them through! This uplifting page-turner will make your belly ache with laughter. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella.

About the author

Mother-of-four, rum-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen also writes. She used to write short fiction before her first two novels were published in 2016.

In 2019, she was long listed in the Comedy Women in Print Prize and has since joined the Bookouture family. HAS ANYONE SEEN MY SEX LIFE?, CAN I GIVE MY HUSBAND BACK? and DID MY LOVE LIFE SHRINK IN THE WASH? follow the Callaghan sisters and are a fresh take on modern life, love and family. Apparently, they’re funny but her husband likes to tell her different.

She lives in Hampshire, UK. She also is a whizz at world capitals and thinks pineapple belongs on pizza. Don’t fight her on this.

My thoughts

What an honest and refreshing look at motherhood and the trials and tribulations that come with a new baby! I’m now going to add side-splitting funny as another major positive. ‘Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?’ is both hilarious and heartwarming in equal measures.

I particularly loved Beth’s friendship with Paddy, the mature next-door-neighbour. I enjoyed how they confided and leaned on each other for support. In fact, this book really was all about the relationships. I found myself caring about all of the key characters. The sisters were fab and their interactions with Beth were full of giggles and wit. Another relationship I have to mention is that between Yasmin the model and Beth. I really didn’t expect that one to play out the way it did but it was oh so satisfying. You’ll have to read it to find out why.

Okay, now I’ll head to what I felt was the main theme in this book – coming to terms with having a new baby in your life. This was handled expertly. Although my daughter is all grown up, I could relate – big time! Every insecurity that Kristen brought up was totally relatable. I will also applaud how body positive this book is. I loved how the sisters could laugh and celebrate their changed bodies together. Bravo for doing that so brilliantly.

To sum up, this will have you doubled over in chuckles and you might even shed a tear. It’s a spot-on read for this time of the year too. I thought it was brill!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Love-Life-Shrink-Wash-laugh-out-loud-ebook/dp/B08L5BYRL3/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Daré – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2021/01/07/the-girl-with-the-louding-voice-by-abi-dare-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s