She Lies Alone by Laura Wolfe – review.

Publication date: 9th November, 2020.

Description

News spreads fast. Gossip spreads faster. Deadly secrets spread fastest of all.

Jane Bryson obeys the rules. A long-standing science teacher at Ravenswood High School, she lives a simple life with her husband Craig and Moose the black Labrador. When free-spirited new English teacher Elena Mayfield joins Ravenswood, Jane’s excited to have a friend who is ready to challenge authority, and Elena’s soon shaking things up.

When Elena starts a controversial club, Jane is ready to support her. When Elena begins an illicit romance with a colleague, Jane is there to help her shield her secret. When people begin asking questions about Elena, Jane backs her all the way.

But the morning after the annual fundraiser, Elena’s body is found crumpled on the soccer field.

It soon becomes clear that not everyone found Elena charming and funny. A thousand people were at the fundraiser: there’s a town full of suspects and a long list of motives. Who was angry with Elena? What had her curiosity and rule-breaking uncovered? Who wanted to shut her up?

Who has told lies they would kill to hide?

A totally gripping psychological suspense novel that you won’t be able to put down, She Lies Alone is a compelling thriller that will keep you turning the pages. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware and The Woman in the Window.

About the author

Laura Wolfe writes fast-paced and twisty mystery and suspense novels. Her new and upcoming releases include TWO WIDOWS (Bookouture, August 2020), SHE LIES ALONE (Bookouture, November 2020), and THE CABIN ON CROOKED LAKE (Bookouture, March 2021.) Her equestrian-themed YA mystery books have been shortlisted for multiple indie book awards. Laura is a lover of animals and nature. When she is not writing, she can be found hanging out with her highly-energetic kids, growing vegetables in her garden, or spoiling her rescue dog. She enjoys living in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

http://www.LauraWolfeBooks.com

http://www.Facebook.com/LauraWolfeBooks

Instagram: @LWolfe.Writes

Twitter: @LauraWolfeBooks

My thoughts

‘She Lies Alone’ is a fantastic murder mystery told from the perspectives of Jane, the science teacher and Amy, the school accountant and I loved it. Not only was it an intriguing and a well constructed mystery, it had me guessing until the end. The two POV’s were brilliantly written. I’ll confess to even trying to work it out while doing mundane tasks like cleaning the house. It had my brain ticking away.

I loved Jane’s character and in fact, I found her really refreshing. She’s the one who obeys the rules and is passionate about chemistry but her life is missing something. She was so well rounded and intelligent. Then there’s Amy, a woman in her forties who’s coming out of the other end of a painful divorce while trying to raise a rebellious teenager. Again, her character was so relatable. Her daughter Phoebe also plays an integral part in everything and then there’s the sinister happenings – which I won’t talk about here. No spoilers – haha.

The setting was the icing on the cake. A lot of the scenes are based in the high school classroom, staff room and the the ‘Geeks and Goblins’ event. Loved the school setting and the entangled relationships between all the characters. It made for an exciting and unpredictable read and a fast moving one at that.

I’d recommend this book to psychological thriller lovers and those that enjoy a good helping of drama. This promises both and delivers too. A fantastic read with a big whopping reveal that will have you saying – OMG!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/She-Lies-Alone-compelling-psychological-ebook/dp/B08HNJNBX6/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Dead Perfect by Noelle Holten – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2020/11/08/dead-perfect-by-noelle-holten-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to She Lies Alone by Laura Wolfe – review.

  1. Pingback: Deadly Cry by Angela Marsons – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s