The Girls in the Snow by Stacy Green – review.

Publication date – 19th October, 2020.

Description

Madison walked through the fallen snow, looking left and right. It had been Kaylee’s idea to use the trail through the forest; she said no one would follow them. But Madison lost sight of Kaylee for a moment and when she found her again she wasn’t alone…

In the remote forests of Stillwater, Minnesota, you can scream for days and no one will hear you. So when the bodies of two fifteen-year-old girls are discovered frozen in the snow, Special Agent Nikki Hunt is sure the killer is local: someone knew where to hide the girls and thought they would never be found.

Though Nikki hasn’t been home in twenty years, she knows she must take over the case. The Sheriff’s department in Stillwater has already made a mistake by connecting the girls’ murders to those of a famous serial killer, refusing to consider the idea that the killer could be someone from town.

Then another girl’s body is found, a red silk ribbon tied in her hair, and Nikki realizes that the killer has a connection to her own dark past, and the reason she left Stillwater.

Nikki is not the only person in town who wants those secrets to stay hidden. Will she be able to face her demons before another child is taken?

Gripping and spine-chilling, The Girls in the Snow will make you gasp, unable to put it down until the final heart-pounding twist. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner and Robert Dugoni.

About the author

Stacy Green is the author of the Lucy Kendall thriller series and the Delta Crossroads mystery trilogy. ALL GOOD DEEDS (Lucy Kendall #1) won a bronze medal for mystery and thriller at the 2015 IPPY Awards. TIN GOD (Delta Crossroads #1) was runner-up for best mystery/thriller at the 2013 Kindle Book Awards. Stacy has a love of thrillers and crime fiction, and she is always looking for the next dark and twisted novel to enjoy.

She started her career in journalism before becoming a stay at home mother and rediscovering her love of writing. She lives in Iowa with her husband and daughter and their three spoiled fur babies.

Stacy loves to hear from readers! Visit her website at stacygreenauthor.com, or Facebook at http://www.Facebook.com/StacyGreenAuthor.

My thoughts

What an exciting police procedural! The setting was absolute mint. I loved the snowy Stillwater landscape and felt the biting chill in the air. The hook really drew me in. Two girls found dead in the snow. Was it the serial killer and what does this have to do with Special Agent Nikki Hunt’s teen-hood trauma?

The stillwater setting had that claustrophobic small town feel and poor Nikki, I felt for her on many occasions. The presentation of suspects and the trail of clues were set out perfectly and in a skilful way with just enough misdirection. The forensic references were brilliantly researched and written. I loved the justice theme too and also that sense of having to face your past to move on with your future.

This was a super fast read. I just had to know who murdered those girls and what happened to Nikki. A fabulous and snappy read that I’m sure will be an absolute hit. A bang of a start for this new FBI agent and series!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Girls-Snow-completely-unputdownable-thriller-ebook/dp/B08DBH9KCY/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

First Date by Sue Watson – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2020/10/16/first-date-by-sue-watson-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Girls in the Snow by Stacy Green – review.

  1. Pingback: The Babysitter by Phoebe Morgan – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s