First Date by Sue Watson – review.

Publication date – 16th October 2020.

Description

She’s been waiting her whole life to meet a man like Alex. But he’s been waiting too. And once he has her, he’ll never let her go…

Hannah has done everything to make sure her life is safe and secure. A long way from her unstable childhood growing up in foster care, she’s content with her sweet, little, messy apartment and her satisfying job as a social worker. She quietly worries that, aged 36, she might never fall in love. But otherwise her life is where she wants it to be.

Until, encouraged by her best friend to join a dating app, she meets Alex. He’s irresistibly handsome. He loves the same music as her. The same food as well. They both dream of travelling the world but agree they’d be equally happy escaping to a cottage by the beach in Devon. Both of them would love to own a Labrador one day. It’s like he’s made for her. It’s like he’s too good to be true.

Hannah’s friends aren’t so sure about him. But Hannah thinks he’s perfect.

Which is good. Because Alex knows she’s perfect for him too. In fact, she’s exactly the girl he’s been looking for…

And nothing Hannah’s done to make her life safe will ever be enough.

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller about dark obsession and internet dating. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Friend Request and Gone Girl will adore this unputdownable twisted love story.

About the author

Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written sixteen novels, and many have been translated into several languages. Sue is now exploring the darker side of life with her latest thrillers OUR LITTLE LIES, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, THE EMPTY NEST, THE SISTER-IN-LAW and FIRST DATE out on October 16th.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her family in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – okay, procrastinating, eating too much confectionery, and watching ‘My 600lb Life,’ on the sofa.

more info visit Sue’s website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter

My thoughts

I found myself flicking through the pages of ‘First Date’ way into the early hours of the morning, on my Kindle, in the dark, because I was as gripped as a gripped thing. I found Hannah’s relationship with Adam totally addictive and I couldn’t wait to carry on reading so that I could consume more.

Once on this rollercoaster, it was easy to feel as trapped as Hannah. I kept thinking, ‘I like Adam’ then ‘I’m not sure,’ then ‘ooh, err.’ Are her colleagues right? Who is right? And what’s with the other characters? I won’t elaborate as I don’t want to spoil any surprises.

Jas’s character was fantastic as a friendly sidekick to Hannah and I really enjoyed how their relationship moved about during the story. I also live in Worcester where the novel was set and in my view, it was the perfect setting for this story.

This book will have you prickling at the neck as you turn the pages. It did with me. I certainly hoped for Hannah to find a happy ending. Sue Watson has a way with words where I as the reader couldn’t help feeling totally immersed in the main character’s life. The ending was KAPOW!!!

This story is creepily addictive and I’m already wondering when the next one is out. Waiting (taps fingernails on table) – hehe!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/First-Date-absolutely-jaw-dropping-psychological-ebook/dp/B08FCGXYH6/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

Everybody Lies by Emily Cavanagh – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2020/10/15/everybody-lies-by-emily-cavanagh-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to First Date by Sue Watson – review.

  1. Pingback: The Girls in the Snow by Stacy Green – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s