Everybody Lies by Emily Cavanagh – review.

Publication date – 15th October, 2020.

Description

It sometimes feels impossible to keep anything hidden in a place like Great Rock. But now they have found that poor girl down on the beach, I realize just how many secrets we’ve been keeping all along.

Evvy has lived on the island of Great Rock all her life. Every year, after the holidaymakers have departed, storms begin to roll in off the Atlantic and the island returns to the small group of locals who, like her, have decided to make it their home.

But when a body is found on the snow-covered beach it sends shockwaves through this tight-knit community and rattles Evvy to her core.

The dead woman had worked on the island the previous summer and it seems strange she would have been visiting so out of season. What drew her back and who was she meeting? When Evvy learns that her partner, Ian, was the last person to see her alive, the shadow of the murder falls far too close to home.

No stranger to being talked about on the island, where no one’s private life is their own, Evvy must protect her daughter, Daisy, from yet more island gossip. Her family’s happiness has felt fragile at the best of times and now with Ian under suspicion, she senses they are close to freefall once again.

As the icy weather closes in, Evvy will discover that no matter how hard you try to hide it, the truth will always find a way out.

A tense and atmospheric emotional drama that will keep you guessing. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Diane Chamberlain and Sally Hepworth.

About the author

A teacher as well as a writer, Emily Cavanagh lives with her husband, two daughters, and an Australian Shepherd on Martha’s Vineyard Island. Her work has been published in Red Rock Review, Grain Magazine, Transfer, and Martha’s Vineyard Arts and Ideas. Read more about Emily’s work and life at http://www.emilycavanaghauthor.com.

My thoughts

I totally enjoyed the perspectives of Evvy, Caroline and Daisy. The story was told through two friends and Evvy’s grown up daughter, Daisy. The book starts with a brilliant hook. A young woman is walking along a beach at night and I felt my skin prickle when she discovered that she wasn’t alone. It had me screaming in my head, ‘run, turn back…’

This is a story packed with family drama and it keeps on coming right up until the end. I couldn’t have easily predicted the shocking ending. I really thought I had it sussed but there were so many secrets, and my views on who was suspect bounced here, there, and everywhere.

The ‘Great Rock’ island setting in the bleak winter months was a fantastic backdrop for the murder. The island had a claustrophobic feel to it and the characters built on that theme through their circumstances, their different experiences and levels of loneliness, and the oncoming storm.

I think anyone who enjoys a well written mystery with bags of exciting drama, relatable characters and a fantastic setting will love ‘Everybody Lies.’ I thoroughly enjoyed it. Fab read!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08F9T795S/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

My Husband’s Daughter by Emma Robinson – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2020/10/13/my-husbands-daughter-by-emma-robinson-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Everybody Lies by Emily Cavanagh – review.

  1. Pingback: First Date by Sue Watson – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s