The Mistress by Jill Childs – review.

Publication date: 14 September, 2020.

Description

I didn’t turn up uninvited. He asked me to come.

He didn’t need to ask twice. He knew I’d agree. Kind Laura. Obedient Laura. Laura the soft-spoken schoolteacher with the faded cardigans and flat shoes. Nobody ever suspected someone like me would appeal to handsome, charismatic, happily married Ralph. I think even he was surprised by his choice. But I’m used to people underestimating me.

But then maybe I underestimated Ralph too. Because I never thought he’d be capable of doing what he did. It wasn’t only dangerous, it was very, very wrong. And I’m not talking about cheating on his wife.

As I said, I didn’t turn up uninvited. He asked me to come. The last thing on my mind was killing him.

A compulsively unputdownable domestic thriller about secrets, lies and how no marriage is ever what it seems from the outside. Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Silent Wife.

About the author

Jill has always loved writing – real and imaginary – and spent 30 years travelling the world as a journalist, living overseas and reporting wherever the news took her. She’s now made her home in London with her husband and twin girls who love stories as much as she does. Although she’s covered everything from earthquakes and floods, riots and wars, she’s found some of the most extraordinary stories right here at home – in the secrets and lies she imagines behind closed doors on ordinary streets, just like yours.

If you’ve enjoyed reading one of Jill’s books, please do leave a review.

For latest news, follow Jill on Twitter (author_jill) and Facebook (Jill Childs)

My thoughts

Ooh, this book starts with an action where there is no turning back, a life changer of the highest order, and I found myself thinking, “Laura – what the hell happens next? Nooo!” And that was all in the first few pages.

I loved the school and home settings, they were so authentically written and I feel as though we have all known a Ralph at least once in out lives. Helen appeared as normal as can be, and Laura, her emotional expressions were unnerving and I felt the weight of her descent. Then the other characters came cleverly into play.

This story was a web that got more intricate as I read on until the metaphorical spider came for its meal. Did the spider devour everything or was there a bit of light left? This is a no spoiler review so you’ll have to decide for yourself. All I can say is I didn’t expect that to happen?

A steady psychological thriller with surprises, perfect for lovers of this genre. I really enjoyed this book!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mistress-gripping-emotional-turner-killer-ebook/dp/B08B63HB1D/

Thanks for reading!

Check out my other posts, you might find your next read.

Containment by Nick Thacker – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2020/09/10/when-theres-nothing-left-to-lose-theres-no-limit-to-what-youll-risk/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Mistress by Jill Childs – review.

  1. Pingback: Flowers for the Dead by Barbara Copperthwaite – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s