Containment by Nick Thacker – review.

Release date: 10th September 2020.

Description

When there’s nothing left to lose, there’s no limit to what you’ll risk.

Jake Parker’s world collapsed with the violent death of his wife during a police-led raid. In the awful aftermath, he hung up his detective’s badge for good. Now ex-military, ex-police, he has embraced a simple civilian life. But when a deadly new disease begins to threaten American lives, Jake is dragged out of his self-imposed retirement.

When a young family at a remote detention center die from a mysterious illness, Jake is contacted by a government official to launch a covert investigation. An unknown disease has entered the system, causing agonizing death and visible signs of blood pooling beneath the skin, and it seems to be spreading. If Jake can’t get on the ground quickly to eliminate the threat before it becomes an epidemic, countless more innocent lives could be at risk.

With the help of medical professor Eliza Mendoza, Jake heads to the border, but what they uncover there is evidence that this devastating disease is man-made, and part of a calculated plot aimed right at the heart of government. With powerful forces ranged against him, Jake must use all his ingenuity to bring down the ruthless organization behind the attack. Failure is not an option.

A pulse-pounding action thriller from a USA Today bestselling author. Fans of David Baldacci, I Am Pilgrim and Jack Ryan will be gripped.

About the author

Nick Thacker is the USA Today Bestselling Author of action-adventure thrillers and mysteries, including the Harvey Bennett Thrillers series. Often mentioned as a cross between Clive Cussler and James Rollins, his stories are written in a fast-paced, punchy style.

He lives on a volcano in Hawaii with his wife, two kids, and two dogs.

My thoughts

During the nightmare that is coronavirus, I stared at this cover of this book and thought, should I read this or will it terrify me? I’m an illness chicken and fear everything at the moment but this book was ace and I am fond of a medical thriller. I’m so glad I read it!

It’s a fast-paced and punchy action adventure starring lead, Jake Parker and his sidekick, Eliza – the scientist. With a new lethal illness attacking people coming to the USA, Jake is brought onto the case.

I enjoyed the American setting as much as the characters. Great backstory for Jake and I loved Eliza with her guts and dedication.

If you seek a book that is filled with action with a race against time, then Containment will be a right thrill for you. The second half moves like lightning and the end is a shocker!

Just in case you were wondering about the deadly disease, it’s yuck inducing but not graphic. Even the most squeamish of reader will have no trouble reading this. It’s all about the action and the race to solve the mystery. It’ll have you on the edge of your seat.

Great read! Definitely recommended for action thriller lovers.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Containment-gripping-thriller-pandemic-Thriller-ebook/dp/B08B6BWNGM/

Thanks for reading!

Why not check out one of my other reviews? Maybe you’ll find your perfect read.

The Wife by Shalini Boland – review. https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/2020/09/09/the-wife-by-shalini-boland-review/

Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestselling DI Gina Harte crime series.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

http://www.carlakovach.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Containment by Nick Thacker – review.

  1. Pingback: The Mistress by Jill Childs – review. | Carla Kovach – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s