The Empty Nest by Sue Watson – review.

Description

‘Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, Kat. Everyone has secrets, even the people we love, the people we live with…’

Kat remembers the days when her only daughter Amy wouldn’t leave her side. Amy was the baby who cried when you walked out of the room, the toddler who was too shy to speak to strangers, the small child who clung to Kat’s legs in the school playground.

But now Amy is grown up, and Amy is gone – to university in a town several hours away. Kat’s house – which once felt too full, too noisy, too busy – is deathly quiet, and Kat awaits the daily phone call to tell her that her beloved daughter is thriving and happy.

But one day Amy doesn’t call. Kat’s husband and friends think she is being paranoid – surely Amy is just out, having fun with her friends. But Kat knows right away that something is very wrong. Her daughter would never forget to call. She would never just disappear… After all, Amy has nothing to run from. Or does she?

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before and Gone Girl will be gripped by this unputdownable story about a mother’s obsessive love for her child.

My thoughts

What a book! I felt as though the drama was playing out in almost real-time as I read it. At first, main character, Kat, was portrayed as a classic helicopter mother – an annoyance to her husband with her smothering ways and maybe even her daughter, who’d managed to escape to university. Before long, my suspicions were bouncing all over the place. Helicopter mum knows something isn’t right, but is it something she’s done that’s to blame?

Everyone became a suspect and this novel made me question how I’d react in similar circumstances. If something so scary happened to me, my mind would be everywhere, just like it was while reading this book. I also felt it to be realistic. It’s easy to see how these type of events in real life can tear families and friendships apart – this book explores that fantastically.

If you love drama with large helpings of mystery, this is the book for you. It holds back, teasing the reader with the ‘who did it’ question. Not only that, the ‘why did they do it’ seemed to drive me to hurry to the end. I read the first half of the book over a couple of the days but snatched every moment on day three to race to the finale. I had to know what happened to Amy, and what a shocker it was!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Empty-Nest-unputdownably-gripping-psychological-ebook/dp/B07XNR56NG/

By Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestseller, The Next Girl. 💕💕💕

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58?

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s