Dear Mother by Angela Marsons – review.

Description

Three sisters. Three childhoods ruined. One chance to heal the scars of the past.

After their death of their cruel and abusive mother, estranged sisters Alex, Catherine and Beth reunite once again. Alex, the youngest, is a bitter, unhappy woman who refuses to face the horrors of her childhood. Finding solace in a bottle, her life is spiralling dangerously out of control. Eldest child, Catherine, has strived for success, despite her difficult upbringing. But behind the carefully constructed world lies secret pain – and if her secret comes out, her world could shatter forever. Beth, the middle child, bore the greatest burden. But having blocked out the cruelty they suffered, she remained with their mother until her death. Now she must confront the devastating reality of the past.

Brought together as strangers, the sisters embark on a painful journey to heal themselves and each other. Can they finally put their terrible childhoods to rest and start over?

An emotional, heart-breaking and compelling novel for readers of Diane Chamberlain, Amanda Prowse and Kelly Rimmer Previously published as The Middle Child Previously published as My Name Is”

My thoughts

Oh my goodness! Keep tissues on you at all times. I really felt for the three central characters, Beth, Alex and Catherine. Within a couple of chapters, I became so invested in their lives and stories, so much that, I couldn’t put this book down. I had to find out how their relationships would develop.

Angela Marsons really goes straight in with a hard hitting subject. Child abuse is something we know sadly exists in society but we hope to never come across it in our lives. This book showed the difficulties of survival as an adult of abuse. Sensitively and realistically written, I wholeheartedly recommend this book. It really has left a lump in my throat. Thank you to the author for such a moving read.

Just take this warning, get some tissues!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dear-Mother-gripping-emotional-story-ebook/dp/B00I77X49C/

By Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestseller, The Next Girl. 💕💕💕

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58?

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s