The Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson – review.

Description:

Have you ever wondered what secrets other mothers are keeping?

Jenny has too much on her plate: literally – she’s only pregnant with one child but she’s already eating for three. Not to mention trying to juggle her future life with a baby, a nightmare boss, a know-it-all sister, and a bizarrely laid back husband.

She used to be famous for her ‘Single Girl About Town’ journalism. But not only is she bored of parties, she also hasn’t been single for years, and is now 8½ months pregnant.

So when her boss hands her column to a younger colleague, Jenny panics and proposes instead writing about being a clueless new mum. Surely people will find her new friendship group fascinating? Even if the only thing they have in common is that they all had sex around the same time 9 months ago…

Like – what’s the deal with scary Gail’s mystery husband? How is posh mum Antonia already out drinking when Jenny can barely make a cup of tea? Why isn’t sweet-natured Ruth answering any phone calls?

And if her readers aren’t quite hooked yet, maybe Jenny will just have to be more liberal with the truth. After all, none of the other mums will read it… will they?

The Undercover Mother is a feel-good parenting page turner that will make you laugh, cry and recognise every moment. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks and The Bad Mother’s Diary.

My thoughts:

Emma cleverly uses humour to tackle the issues surrounding mothers-to-be and new mothers. A lot of people will relate to this book. Life changes after having a baby. Decisions have to be made and people are judgemental even though a new mother’s choice to go back to work or stay at home is simply none of their business.

I really felt for the main character – stay at home and commit career suicide or fight to maintain a career she loves. These issues face women right now. Their careers can slip through their fingers as other people take over their jobs and companies push them out. This book had me clenching my fists in anger for Jenny as much as it had me laughing – well done to the writer for making me feel this way.

I loved the Spice Mums and Jenny’s unravelling of all their secrets and boy what an explosion near the end! Mega eek!

If you’re looking for topical, fun, hilarious, heartbreaking and entertaining, then look no further. The Undercover Mother is all that. I loved it!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Undercover-Mother-romantic-friendship-parenting-ebook/dp/B078J5Q3LJ/

By Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestseller, The Next Girl. 💕💕💕

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carla-Kovach/e/B00KM50P58?

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s