Love You Gone by Rona Halsall – Review.

Description:

‘Hello? Police? My husband and our children… they’re gone.’

When Mel arrives at the holiday cottage in the Lake District, she expects to find the heating on and her husband Luke and the two children waiting for her. Maybe a bottle of wine open…

Instead, there is just a note on the side, saying they’ve gone out for a walk.

But they aren’t back several hours later, and Mel knows something is wrong. Really wrong. When a search doesn’t find them, she has to confess to the police that her marriage isn’t all that it seems.

Even if that risks her own secrets being revealed…

An absolutely incredible, page-turning psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, for fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors and Ruth Ware.

My thoughts:

I loved the structure of this suspenseful psychological thriller. It begins with wife, Mel’s, POV. This novel drew me in immediately with Mel arriving at the holiday cottage to find her family gone. I mean, this is after all a mother’s worst nightmare! It had me turning the pages, anticipating the many things that could have happened to husband, Luke, and the two children. Were they lost, dead, or had they been kidnapped?

We get a deep look into Luke’s character as we jump back to the past and see things through his POV. ‘There are two sides to every marriage’ – the tagline for this book is perfect. The author explores the characters and their inner-workings brilliantly.

Rona has sensitively tacked the central theme of domestic violence and as I was reading, it felt real and I event shuddered a couple of times. The story is full of twists and turns, there to surprise the reader right up to the very end. What a tense, exciting, read! Loved it.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Love-You-Gone-psychological-incredible-ebook/dp/B07GYQWK9B/

Thanks so much for reading. 💟💟💟
Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestseller, The Next Girl.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

Advertisements

About Carla

Welcome to my blog. I write novels under the name of Carla Kovach. My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' will be out next year. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but food and travel are my favourite subjects.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s