The Orchid Girls by Lesley Sanderson

Description:

‘Now we are bound forever,’ she says, her eyes determined. ‘I will never tell anyone, I swear. This is between you and me. Now you swear too.’

They called them the Orchid Girls.

Grace. Charlotte. Molly.

One of them is in love.

One of them is a liar.

One of them is dead.

One day, three became two – and no one knows the truth. What really happened that summer?

The Orchid Girls is a breathless, gripping and twisty story of love, obsession and dark secrets. Fans of K.L. Slater, The Wife Between Us and Paula Hawkins’ The Girl on the Train – read this one with the lights on…

My thoughts:

This book is a fantastic example of a story where a deadly secret from the past is the main character, Grace’s, biggest enemy. After all, she’s on the verge of superstardom, and also has a reputation to keep for her politician husband.

Secrets, lies and obsession are some of the central themes and I found each chapter captivating. I couldn’t wait to turn the pages, read each point of view and take in the diary entries, to find out how the characters were going to further funnel themselves into their cramped corner – but who was going to triumph? I had no idea who to trust, obsessive stalker Molly or perfect clean-eating domestic goddess Grace, Ellis, Grace’s father or even Molly’s uncle. Believe me, it all bangs together in an explosive ending.

I admire how the themes of prejudice and shame were tackled. Sensitive issues handled perfectly. Amazing debut, Lesley Sanderson. I’m looking forward to reading more of your work soon. What a fantastic psychological thriller!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Orchid-Girls-completely-gripping-psychological-ebook/dp/B07GGS6Q1R/

Thanks so much for reading. 💟💟💟
Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestseller, The Next Girl.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s