The Diary by Vikki Patis.

Book description:

Lauren has spent years running away from her home town, her childhood and the memories of her best friend, Hannah.

Until the tenth anniversary of Hannah’s death forces her to return home and to the group of friends she abandoned there. It should be a quick visit, just so Lauren can pay her respects.

At home, Lauren finds Hannah’s old diary. A diary full of secrets. The terrible things Lauren did, the lies she’s told, the reason she ran away. And she receives a message:

‘I don’t know why you’re back, but I know why you left.’

But no-one else has seen the diary, and Hannah’s dead, isn’t she?

A suspenseful psychological thriller full of twists and turns – you won’t be able to stop turning the pages of The Diary. Perfect for fans of The Sister, The Girl on the Train and We Were Liars.

My thoughts:

The Diary is an intense story that had me flicking through the pages in record time!

You can tell it’s going to be a good one when the main character is heading back to her hometown and is absolutely filled with dread. I love these types of stories, tales that almost feel as though you as the reader are gradually suffocating with the main character. I certainly felt the stifling pressure she was living under and it keeps you guessing as to whether it will break her.

Will she leave her hometown emotionally worse-off or better? Or, will she leave at all?

This is a suspenseful story of regret and facing one’s own past, however hard. Its themes of child abuse and teenage suicide are brave and handled with sensitivity and skill.

Definitely one to read if you enjoy a story with plenty of background that really creeps under your skin.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Diary-completely-addictive-psychological-thriller-ebook/dp/B07GWBDDXS/

Thanks so much for reading. 💟💟💟
Carla Kovach – author of Amazon and iBooks bestseller, The Next Girl.

https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/

About Carla

Welcome to my blog! I’m the author of the DI Gina Harte Series, first book is called The Next Girl. I love and live for writing and reading (and sketching - haha). My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is a work in progress. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it in the future. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but books, travel and art are my favourites.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s