Akyaka & Mugla – Photos from 2003

I know many people are taking an interest in Akyaka or have visited recently. Below are just a few old photos I’ve found in my own archives of this little town. The photos aren’t brilliant as they were taken with good old fashioned film and I’m no professional photographer. 

After a visit the other year, I noticed there had been a few changes. There are now (or were when I re-visited) toilets on the beach – yay! Although the town did have a tired feel about it, we stopped at a most amazing cafe just on the edge of the forest walk and watched the fish jumping in the sea. It was an absolutely splendid sight. 

The beach was still beautiful and the sea was still inviting, especially on a baking hot day. The promenade was littered with small cafés and a boutique hotel. It’s well worth a trip, although I’d recommend taking a river cruise as a part of the trip. The river is amazing with lots of restaurants to observe along the route upstream. Don’t be fooled though, if you’re hot and you want to cool off, the Azmak River will take your breath away. It is freezing. Azmak means ‘running wild’ in the context of rivers. 

To get to Akyaka by bus, you need to board the Mugla bus in Marmaris and get off at Gocova. Once reaching Gocova, you need to board the Akyaka bus. The drivers are generally helpful if you’re not feeling too confident. 

Happy travelling and enjoy my very old (2003) and poorly taken (sorry) photos. 

  
    
    
    
     
 

And here’s a couple of Mugla (2003).

  
   

Toodle pip until next time
Carla Kovach
Facebook: Carla Kovach Author
Twitter: @CKovachAuthor
(Content and photos – copyright – Carla Kovach)

If you enjoy a crime thriller, why not check out my novel ‘Whispers Beneath the Pines’ which is set in Turkey.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Whispers-Beneath-Pines-Carla-Kovach-ebook/dp/B00OABYVLE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1426229832&sr=8-1&keywords=Carla+Kovach

About Carla

Welcome to my blog. I write novels under the name of Carla Kovach. My other passion is filmmaking. My feature film 'Penny for the Guy' will be out next year. If you enjoy a bit of horror, look out for it. I'm on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn. Feel free to join me on other platforms. I blog about many random things but food and travel are my favourite subjects.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

